• Disabling validation email?

    From Lars Kellogg-Stedman@VERT to alt.bbs.synchronet on Thu Nov 2 20:07:12 2023
    From Newsgroup: alt.bbs.synchronet

    I'd like to disable the requirement for sysop feedback.

    Following https://wiki.synchro.net/faq:misc, I checked that Nodes->Node n->Advanced Options->Validation User is set to "0", but when creating a new user account I get:

    ---
    As a new user, your access to some of the system's facilities will be restricted until the letter you are about to write has been reviewed by a
    sysop and your account has been "validated."

    Please include in your letter:

    o Where you found the address or phone number of this BBS
    o What prompted you to call/login
    o What your expectations are

    Unknown user

    You must leave DELETED USER mail in order to be validated!
    ---

    ...and then I am disconnected. This is running v3.19 on Linux (via https://hub.docker.com/r/bbsio/synchronet).

    Any idea what's going on here? There are a couple of deleted test accounts in the system. The new user I'm creating does not match the name of a deleted account.
    --- Synchronet 3.20a-Linux NewsLink 1.114
    Synchronet Vertrauen Home of Synchronet [vert/cvs/bbs].synchro.net
  • From Lars Kellogg-Stedman@VERT to alt.bbs.synchronet on Thu Nov 2 20:14:34 2023
    From Newsgroup: alt.bbs.synchronet

    On Thursday, November 2, 2023 at 11:07:14PM UTC-4, Lars Kellogg-Stedman wrote:
    I'd like to disable the requirement for sysop feedback.
    Well, the deleted account message is because somehow the sysop account was marked deleted. I don't know if that was a fumble on my part or not, but with the account restored, new users are still required to leave feedback. It looks as if user number 0 refers to the initial sysop account rather than "nobody".
    --- Synchronet 3.20a-Linux NewsLink 1.114
    Synchronet Vertrauen Home of Synchronet [vert/cvs/bbs].synchro.net
  • From Digital Man@VERT to Lars Kellogg-Stedman on Thu Nov 2 21:18:53 2023
    Re: Re: Disabling validation email?
    By: Lars Kellogg-Stedman to alt.bbs.synchronet on Thu Nov 02 2023 08:14 pm

    From Newsgroup: alt.bbs.synchronet

    On Thursday, November 2, 2023 at 11:07:14PM UTC-4, Lars Kellogg-Stedman wrote:
    I'd like to disable the requirement for sysop feedback.
    Well, the deleted account message is because somehow the sysop account was marked deleted. I don't know if that was a fumble on my part or not, but with the account restored, new users are still required to leave feedback. It looks as if user number 0 refers to the initial sysop account rather than "nobody". --- Synchronet 3.20a-Linux NewsLink 1.114

    No, 0 should definitely be "nobody".

    In v3.19, this was a *per node* setings, so you'd have to set each node's validation user to 0. Did you do that?
    --
    digital man (rob)

    Sling Blade quote #10:
    Morris: I stand on the hill, not for thrill, but for the breath of a fresh kill Norco, CA WX: 67.2F, 27.0% humidity, 0 mph ENE wind, 0.00 inches rain/24hrs ---
    Synchronet Vertrauen Home of Synchronet [vert/cvs/bbs].synchro.net